Breaking News

World Champions Germany Crowned Confed Cup Winners

Reigning world champions, Germany were crowned FIFA Confederations Cup champions after defeating Chile 1-0 in the final on Sunday evening.
Chile came out guns blazing in the early stages of the first half and were camped in the German for most of the opening 15 minutes.
However, Germany took the lead against run of play in the 20th minute, as Timo Werner pounced on Marcelo Diaz's error and teed up Lars Stindl, who tapped into an empty net.
The World Champions had a chance to doubled their lead after 35 minutes when Leon Goretzka broke into the box, but he fired just wide of the post,
La Roja were guilty of committing too many errors, and they were nearly punished just before the break but Claudio Bravo produced a good save to deny Werner in the box.
The Germans nearly doubled their lead in the 58th minute when Julian Draxler was played through on goal, but the Paris Saint-Germain forward's effort deflected inches wide of the upright.
Chile went close to leveling maters in the 74th minute when the ball fell for Arturo Vidal in the box, but the midfielder blazed over the crossbar from 12-yards out.
With Chile pushing for an equaliser, Germany coach Joachim Low introduced midfielder Emre Can for Werner in the 78th minute.
La Roja should have leveled matters in the 84th minute but substitute Angelo Sagal ballooned his effort over the crossbar from 10-yards out.
Nevertheless, Germany managed to hold out until the final whistle to claim the win and the Confederations Cup title for the first time in their history.
Simon Mkhize

Simon Mkhize

Staff writter

No comments:

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.