Breaking News

FIFA Laws: Baroka Penalty Should Have Been Retaken

Baroka were unlucky not to have received a chance to retake their penalty kick against Golden Arrows at the weekend.
However, according to the FIFA Laws of the Game, a retake should have been ordered, instead of disallowing the goal and continuing with play like the referee did on Saturday.  
About the infringements when a penalty is being taken, FIFA Law 14 states:
If the referee gives the signal for a penalty kick to be taken and, before the ball is in play, one of the following situation occurs:
A player of both the defending team and the attacking team infringe the Laws of the Game:
•The kick is retaken.
A SAFA match referee, who spoke to the Siya crew on condition of anonymity, feels that the decision to award a penalty in the first place was incorrect.
Simon Mkhize

Simon Mkhize

Staff writter

No comments:

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.