Breaking News

The FIFA Ballon d'Or is no more

As of next year, France Football will once again have sole control of the annual Ballon d’Or prize after their agreement with world football governing body FIFA was not extended.
The FIFA Ballon d’Or was created in 2010 as FIFA merged their yearly World Player of the Year award withFrance Football’s annual Ballon d’Or prize, yet this will no longer be the case as relations between the two organisations hit turbulence following Gianni Infantino’s election as FIFA president.
FIFA has now cut ties with the French publication, who will have sole ownership and control of the prestigious prize.
"The contractual agreement between FIFA and France Football expired in January. We told France Footballin early August that the contract would not be renewed," the game's governing body declared.
The trophy will thus return to its initial format, with voting made exclusively by journalists in Europe, and not the national team captains and managers of FIFA members as before.
The Ballon d'Or - reserved initially for European players - was founded in 1956 and first won by Blackpool’s Stanley Matthews, with Liberian star George Weah the first non-European to win it in 1995.
In 2010, expelled former FIFA president Joseph Blatter paid 15 million euros to Éditions Philippe Amaury for the rights to the trophy, which then became known as the FIFA Ballon d’Or, and has been shared solely by Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo ever since.
It remains to be seen whether the defunct FIFA World Player of the Year will be revived alongside the Ballon d’Or in future.



Staff writter

1 comment:

  1. interesting. I think FIFA must jut have a team of the year along with awards for Goalkeeper, Defender, Midfielder and Striker of the year.


Powered by Blogger.